Of breakfast food and dog treats

As fall has settled in, I’ve been doing a lot of cooking and not just for myself, but for the dogs too (ok, not a lot for the dogs, but some).

In the last week I hit upon two huge hits, one for myself for breakfast and one for the dogs for treats.

First, my breakfast. I do not like breakfast. I find it difficult to be motivated to cook for breakfast every morning but the one breakfast food I’ve always wished I enjoyed was oatmeal. I don’t, however. But, I have some barley I bought at a local Amish market and I know barley is a healthful food and I knew it could be turned into a breakfast cereal. So, I Googled it and gave it a try. I made two different kinds recently, an apple-cranberry barley and a banana-peanut butter barley. And, I love it. Here’s what I did.

Ingredients
4 cups of liquid (I used two cups of water and two cups of unsweetened almond milk)
1/2 c. barley
An apple or two
1/4 c. dried cranberries
cinnamon
honey
raw sugar
vanilla

I put the liquid on to boil and once it did, added the barley, cinnamon, honey (about 2 Tbsp), raw sugar (1/8 of a cup, which was too much) and a teaspoon of vanilla. Let that cook on low, covered, for 45 minutes. Add the apples and cook another 30 minutes, then add the cranberries and let it cook another 15 to 20 minutes. Once it’s done and it cools it thickens. I ate it cold with vanilla Greek yogurt.

For the banana-peanut butter barley I used 3 c. liquid, 1/4 c. barley, 4 bananas that I had in the freezer and a 1/2 c. peanut butter. I cooked it in much the same way, waiting until the last five minutes to add the peanut butter. Yum. Yum. Yum.

Now, for the dog treats. I had a beef roast I had made and didn’t want to throw out when I was done with it, so I sliced it into 1/16 inch slices, placed those on a cookie sheet and baked them at 300 until they were, well, dried out, flipping them once. The dogs love ’em enough that I’m contemplating doing it again, and maybe with chicken.

Leave a Reply

